Whitehorse City Council

Latest News

Congratulations to the best of Whitehorse sport stars

7 Dec 2017

Congratulations to the winners from this year’s Whitehorse Sports Awards which recognise the important contribution local sporting clubs make to the Whitehorse community.

Whitehorse Mayor Andrew Davenport said talented, committed nominees and the gifted winners highlighted the range of outstanding achievements of the clubs’ members and volunteers.

“Sport has always been an important aspect of life in Whitehorse, and its contribution towards building a healthy and connected community was celebrated at an awards ceremony in October,” Cr Davenport said.

“Former cricketer Merv Hughes gave an inspiring talk and presented the winners with their awards. Each winner demonstrated their ability to provide important support, mentorship, or another positive contribution to the life of their club or sport.

School of the Year – Koonung Secondary College
In the last year, Koonung Secondary College has participated in 78 Whitehorse Division competitions, winning half of these competitions and progressing to State Finals on 15 occasions. The College is committed to their Sport Education program, which they believe adds value to a student’s personal development, self-esteem, confidence and connectedness to their school.

Volunteer of the Year – Colin McGary from East Box Hill Cricket Club
As a member of the East Box Hill Cricket Club for 46 years, and a committee member for 28 of those years, Colin has always taken the time to pass on his experience, values, attitude and spirit to those around him. He is at the forefront of driving the committee to develop their knowledge and skills for the benefit of the club.  

Coach of the Year – Alan Carter from the Box Hill Cricket Club
Alan is one of Victoria’s highest regarded cricket coaches. In his eight seasons as the Senior Premier Women’s Coach for Box Hill Cricket Club, Alan has led the Women’s 1st XI to seven consecutive one day grand finals and four T20 Grand Finals.  Now retired, Alan always invested time into being a trusted confidante to the women he coaches to ensure they are ready to tackle life challenges.

Team of the Year – Senior Men’s Team from Whitehorse United Soccer Club
After finishing mid-table for the past few years, a new coach has revitalised the Senior Men’s Team from the Whitehorse United Soccer Club to a new level. The team has won their first title since 1994, capturing the Football Federation Victoria State League 4 East title and achieving a promotion to State League 3 South-East.

Sports Club of the Year – Box Hill Cricket Club
Box Hill Cricket Club is a truly diverse club, welcoming players from every age, gender, ability and cultural background. It has 340 members and more than 3000 indirect members, making it one of the most popular clubs in Whitehorse.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability – Madeleine Scott from Nunawading Swimming Club
Madeleine’s achievements over the past year include selection onto the Australian Team for the Paralympic World Swimming Championships, Bronze in the 50 m butterfly multi class at the Australian Open Championships and five gold medals in multi class events at 2017 Victorian Open Championships.

Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Sophie Caldwell from Nunawading Swimming Club
Sophie’s achievements include representing Australia at the Commonwealth Youth Games in the Bahamas, where she achieved a bronze in the 400m freestyle event and fourth in the 400m individual medley. In June 2017, Sophie, 17, was awarded a Pierre de Coubertin award, recognising secondary school students who demonstrate values consistent with the Olympic movement through participation in sporting activities.

Sportsperson of the Year – Meg Lanning from the Box Hill Cricket Club
Meg is the captain of several teams at local, state and international levels – not to mention the International Cricket Club’s number 1 player in the world.  Among the numerous awards she has received, Meg holds the world record for the most One Day International 100s and won the Belinda Clark Award as International Player of the Year (the third time she has won this award).

Chair’s Award – Maddison Ridley
This year, Maddison has won silver at the netball Nationals, was selected into the U/17 Australian Squad, winning silver in Fiji with the U/16 Australian Schoolgirls netball team, selection in the U/15 School Sport Victoria netball team and being awarded a Victorian Institute of Sport scholarship.

More information

Return to Listings