Fire Services Property Levy

In July 2013, as recommended by the Victorian Bushfires Royal Commission, the Victorian Government replaced the insurance-based Fire Services Levy with a property-based levy, the Fire Services Property Levy (FSPL). The FSPL is how the state government collects funding for Fire Rescue Victoria and the CFA.

Council must collect the FSPL on behalf of the state government. All property owners, including non-rateable property owners, must pay the FSPL.

Council will issue the 2021/22 Valuation and Rate Notice in August 2021 and each notice will include the FSPL as a separate charge.


More information

Find out more about the Fire Services Property Levy

You can also call the Council on 9262 6333 for more information.