Smarter Living Series

Join Whitehorse and Manningham City Councils in tackling waste by attending a Smarter Living event running between April and November. The Smarter Living program focuses on delivering workshops throughout the year that highlight simple, low waste living.

Events feature thrifty living experts, change makers, gardeners and foodies sharing their stories, practical advice and secrets to smarter living. 

The events for 2023 are available below. Bookings are essential. Click the tiles below to head to the associated booking page.

no waste cook club

No Waste Cooking Class - Stale Bread Gnocchi

When: Wednesday 19 April
Time: 7pm – 8pm

Upcycle Art Competition

Application dates: 1 March - 11 April
Exhibition dates: 28 April - 11 May

Beginners Composting Workshop

When: Tuesday 9 May
Time: 7pm – 8:30pm

Beginners Composting in Mandarin

When: Wednesday 17 May
Time:  7pm – 8:30pm

Advanced Composting Workshop

When: Wednesday 10 May
Time: 7pm – 8:30pm

Drop and Swap Clothing Exchange - Templestowe Lower

When: Saturday 17 June
Time:12pm – 2pm

Plastic Free July: Your Circular Economy How-To

When: Wednesday 5 July
Time: 7pm – 8pm

Sustainable Living: Run by Plastic Free July

When: Thursday 6 July
Time: 7:30pm

Small steps make a big difference, and you can too!

When: Tuesday 11 July
Time: 7pm – 8pm

Cloth Nappies 101 Online Workshop

When: Wednesday 9 August
Time: 7.30pm – 9pm

Seed Bomb Workshop - Nunawading

When: Tuesday 19 September
Time:10am –11.30am

Beeswax Wrap Workshop - Nunawading

When: Tuesday 19 September
Time: 2.30pm – 4.30pm

Kids Toy Swap

When: Saturday 23 September
Time: 10am – 11.30am

Kids Composting Workshop

When: Tuesday 26 September
Time: 10am – 11am

Drop and Swap Clothing Exchange - Box Hill

When: Saturday 28 October
Time:12pm – 2pm

From Precious to Plastic

When: Wednesday 1 November
Time: 7pm – 8pm